Berlinale: Yearbook


57th Berlin International Film Festival
February 8 - 18, 2007

"The combination of film festival and film market counts as Berlin's biggest advantage, beside its efficient infra-structure. Many buyers visit Berlin with the quite systematic goal to search for those rare to find pearls in the festival's programme sections."

(Frankfurter Rundschau)

Judi Dench, Dieter Kosslick
Dieter Kosslick guiding Judi Dench to the Berlinale Palast.

Record interest in a Berlinale of the stars

Never before was interest in the Berlinale as great as this year, in terms of both professional visitors and the general public: More than 19,000 accredited professionals from 127 countries, including 4,000 journalists came to the festival. Over ten days, the Berlinale saw about 430,000 cinema visits, and a record 220,000 tickets were sold to the general. The newly added Cubix cinemas on Alexanderplatz were very well received. Besides the "regular sections" Competition, Panorama, Forum, Generation and Perspektive Deutsches Kino, events in the special Magnum in Motion series, the newly positioned Short Film Competition, as well as the Eat, Drink, See Movies - Culinary Cinema events were almost completely booked out.

An extra special treat came once again in the form of the Retrospective programme, which this year presented images of the “New Woman” in the era of silent film. A special pleasure for those with a taste for the unexpected were provided by the carefully restored colour versions of Hamlet (1920/21) with Asta Nielsen and Giovanni Pastrone’s historical epic Cabiria as well as the complete version of Rainer-Werner Fassbinder’s late work Berlin Alexanderplatz, which was shown as a Remastered Version in the Berlinale Special.

The Homage was dedicated to the American director Arthur Penn, who added a special touch to the Berlinale as tireless festivalgoer and gregarious guest of honour.

Side-by-side festival and market structure continues to grow dynamically

The side-by-side structure of the festival and film market continued to gain prestige and developed a new dynamic this year. The European Film Market (EFM) continued to grow qualitatively and quantitatively. In the two locations – the Martin-Gropius-Bau and the EFM Business Offices – 259 companies from the film industry from 46 countries presented themselves at 115 market stalls. In more than 1,100 screenings, 727 films were presented. The press and professional visitors unanimously concurred that the EFM has developed into a crucial date on the international business calendar. Reactions to the business activity and attractiveness of this year’s EFM couldn’t have been more enthusiastic.

Berlinale Talent Campus, Panel
Panel at the Berlinale Talent Campus in the HAU theatre.

In the informal territory between the festival and market, the Berlinale Co-Production Market further established itself as a motor for international co-productions, while the Berlinale Talent Campus secured its place as an internationally one-of-a-kind working and inspiration platform for young filmmakers from around the world. The three year-old World Cinema Fund once again used the Berlinale as a showcase for its successful film support activity: Three WCF-funded films were invited to take part in the official programme. With Ariel Rotter’s El Otro, the WCF was able to add another Bear-winner to its portfolio.

A Berlinale of the stars, especially women

The Competition films at this year’s Berlinale managed to attract a noticeable number of film stars and personalities to Berlin. The press and audiences were pleased and the Red Carpet was surrounded every day from early afternoon. At this year's festival, actresses in particular provided the memorable moments: Cate Blanchett, Marianne Faithfull, Lauren Bacall, Sharon Stone, Judi Dench, Jennifer Lopez, Emanuelle Béart, Nina Hoss, Julia Jentsch and Yu Nan, the lead actress in winning film Tuya's Marriage. Plenty of male celebrities were present too: everyone’s eyes were also on Matt Damon, Joseph Fiennes, Guillaume Dépardieu and superstar RAIN (Jung Ji-hoon) while the Jury offered plenty of "manpower" with Willem Dafoe, Gael García Bernal and Mario Adorf.

Once again the Competition presented itself as a mix of generations when it came to the directors. Young, promising names like David Mackenzie, Ariel Rotter and Li Yu drew attention alongside the greats of their trade, such as Jiri Menzel, Jacques Rivette and Paul Schrader. With Steven Soderbergh, Park Chan-wook, Francois Ozon and Christian Petzold, several big names of contemporary cinema presented their new works in Berlin.

However, not all the films in this Competition were equally popular. While Sam Gabarski’s Irina Palm, Mackenzie’s Hallam Foe, Li Yu’s Lost in Beijing and Petzold's Yella resonated positively with both the press and the general public, the eagerly awaited Bordertown disappointed many observers, because it failed to sufficiently tackle its charged topic head on – the persecution and murder of Mexican textile workers.

Steve Buscemi
A double Buscemi: Steve Buscemi in the Panorama with Interview

Panorama and Forum offered diversity at a high level

With their traditionally somewhat heterogeneous profile, the Panorama and Forum were able to satisfy their demanding and passionate audiences. With Julie Delpy’s 2 Days in Paris, Hal Hartley’s Fay Grim and Sarah Polley’s Away from her, several hits were screened in the Panorama, and the section enjoyed the presence of plenty of stars: crossing the Red Carpet into the Zoo-Palast were Daniel Brühl, Danny Glover, Antonio Banderas, Steve Buscemi as well as Karl Lagerfeld and John Waters, to whom a documentary portrait was dedicated. A critic’s favourite was Pascale Ferran’s Lady Chatterley. Insider tips in the section included the political documentary Strange Culture, Mitchell Lichtenstein’s Teeth as well as the Korean Dasepo Naughty Girls, which was credited in the New York Times alongside Park Chan-wook’s Competition film I'm a Cyborg, But That's OK, for having revived the genre of the "crazy movie".

The Forum lived up to its reputation of taking a differentiated view of international film and presented various developments coming out of Asia, in particular. Highlights aslo included the re-screening of Charles’ Burnett’s 1977 social drama Killer of Sheep, Guy Maddin’s eccentric silent film Brand Upon the Brain! , which was presented as a opera spectacle, as well as two noteworthy works by young German directors: Ann-Kristin Reyels’ Hounds and Maria Speth’s Madonnas.

German films blossom in the warmth of the Berlin February sun

Nobody doubts anymore that the Berlinale has fostered the revival of German films over the last few years. Rarely has international awareness of German film been as high as it was this year. Besides the noticeable presence of German actors in international productions - Devid Striesow, Moritz Bleibtreu, Martina Gedeck, Julia Jentsch, Jasmin Tabatabai, André Hennicke – this Berlinale was appreciated as a showcase year for the "Berlin School": Maria Speth, Thomas Arslan, Angela Schanelec presented their latest films and Christian Petzold, according to the "Neue Zürcher Zeitung", managed the “great leap” with his film Yella.

Prinzessinnenbad: Mina, Bettina Blümner, Klara & Tanutscha
Pool of Princesses: director Bettina Blümner (2nd fr.l.) with Mina, Klara and Tanutscha.

That this quality has a lasting character was ensured by a strong year in the Perspektive Deutsches Kino, which enjoyed a sensational audience hit with the tough-talking Berlin documentary Prinzessinnenbad by Bettina Blümner.

Confronted with a constantly expanding festival, some observers complained about a predictable structural overload and the loss of distinct selectivity in the programme. Others cherished the incredible energy and buzz that is released for ten days at the festival, and the opportunities that lie therein. Meanwhile, in its 30th year, the Generation section – which has no problem defining its distinct profile – again enchanted its young, discriminating audience. The fact that the section-spanning “Award for the best first film” went to a Generation film this year, namely Vanaja by Rajnesh Domalpalli, simply underscored what has long since been known to the public: Some of the festival’s most remarkable films run in the Generation section.

Visitors  
Total amount of theater visits 430,894
Tickets sold 224,181
   
Professionals  
Accredited guests (press excl.) 15,050
Countries of origin 103
   
Press  
Journalists 4,105
Countries of origin 88
   
Website www.berlinale.de
Dec 15, 2006 - Feb 25, 2007
 
Page Views 14,205,039
Visits 939,513
   
Screenings  
Number of films in the public programme 396
Total amount of public screenings 934
   
European Film Market  
Film industry participants 5,752
Number of films 727
Number of screenings 1,099
EFM-Stands
(Martin-Gropius-Bau & Business Offices)
116
Number of exhibitors 259
   
Berlinale Co-Production Market  
Participants 418
Countries of origin 48
   
Berlinale Talent Campus  
Participants 370
Countries of origin 101

Berlinale: Chronik


57. Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin
08. - 18. Februar 2007

„Die Verbindung von Filmfestival und Filmmarkt gilt neben der effizienten Organisation als eine der größten Stärken Berlins. Viele Lizenzhändler kommen ganz gezielt an die Spree, um in den verschiedenen Sektionen des Festivals versteckte Perlen zu entdecken.“

(„Frankfurter Rundschau“)

Judi Dench, Dieter Kosslick
Dieter Kosslick führt Judi Dench in den Berlinale Palast.

Rekordinteresse für eine Berlinale der Stars

Noch nie war das Interesse an der Berlinale so groß wie in diesem Jahr, sowohl seitens der Fachbesucher als auch des Publikums: Mehr als 19.000 Akkreditierte aus 127 Ländern, darunter 4.000 Journalisten, kamen zum Festival. Das Festival verzeichnete in zehn Tagen rund 430.000 Kinobesuche, eine Rekordzahl von rund 220.000 Tickets ging dabei an das Publikum. Die neu hinzugekommenen Kinos im Cubix am Alexanderplatz wurden hervorragend angenommen. Neben den „Stammsektionen“ Wettbewerb, Panorama, Forum, Generation und Perspektive Deutsches Kino, waren auch die Vorstellungen der Sonderreihe Magnum in Motion, des neu positionierten Kurzfilmwettbewerbs, sowie die Veranstaltungen der Event-Reihe Kulinarisches Kino fast vollständig ausgebucht.

Das besondere „Verwöhnaroma“ brachte vielen einmal mehr das Programm der Retrospektive, die sich in diesem Jahr mit den Bildern der „Neuen Frau“ in der Stummfilmzeit beschäftigte. Besondere Leckerbissen für Freunde des Außergewöhnlichen waren die Uraufführungen der aufwändig restaurierten Farbfassungen von Hamlet (1920/21) mit Asta Nielsen und von Giovanni Pastrones Monumentalfilm Cabiria sowie der vollständigen Fassung von Rainer-Werner Fassbinders Spätwerk Berlin Alexanderplatz, die als Remastered Version im Berlinale Special gezeigt wurde.

Die Hommage war dem amerikanischen Regisseur Arthur Penn gewidmet, der als umtriebiger Festivalbesucher und gesprächfreudiger Ehrengast der Berlinale eigene Akzente gab.

Doppelstruktur aus Festival und Markt gewinnt weiterhin an Dynamik

Die Doppelstruktur aus Festival und Filmmarkt hat in diesem Jahr weiter an Prestige gewonnen und neue Dynamiken entwickelt. Der European Film Market (EFM) blieb weiter qualitativ und quantitativ auf Wachstumskurs. In den zwei Locations Martin-Gropius-Bau und EFM Business Offices präsentierten sich in diesem Jahr 259 Unternehmen der Filmbranche aus 46 Ländern mit 115 Marktständen. In über 1.100 Screenings wurden 727 Filme angeboten. Einhellig bescheinigten Presse und Fachpublikum dem EFM, sich zu einem absoluten "Muss" im internationalen Geschäftskalender entwickelt zu haben. Die Reaktionen auf die Geschäftstätigkeit und Attraktivität des diesjährigen EFM hätten kaum enthusiastischer ausfallen können.

Berlinale Talent Campus, Panel
Panel auf dem Berlinale Talent Campus im HAU

Im informellen Feld zwischen Festival und Markt haben sich der Berlinale Co-Production Market als ein Motor für internationale Koproduktionen und der Berlinale Talent Campus als eine weltweit einzigartige Arbeits- und Inspirationsplattform für junge Filmemacher aus aller Welt etabliert. Auch der seit drei Jahren arbeitende World Cinema Fund hat die Berlinale erneut als Visitenkarte für seine erfolgreiche Förderarbeit nutzen können: drei WCF-geförderte Filme wurden ins offizielle Programm eingeladen, mit Ariel Rotters El Otro hat der WCF seinem Portfolio sogar einen weiteren Bärengewinner hinzufügen können.

Ein Wettbewerb der Schauspielerinnen

Für die Filme des Wettbewerbs war es der Berlinale in diesem Jahr gelungen, auffallend viele Stars und Persönlichkeiten des Films nach Berlin zu holen. Presse und Publikum freuten sich, der rote Teppich war vom frühen Nachmittag an dicht belagert. Vor allem Schauspielerinnen sorgten auf dieser Berlinale für nachhaltige Momente: Cate Blanchett, Marianne Faithfull, Lauren Bacall, Sharon Stone, Judi Dench, Jennifer Lopez, Emanuelle Béart, Nina Hoss, Julia Jentsch und Yu Nan, die Hauptdarstellerin des Gewinnerfilms Tuya's Ehe. Aber auch die männlichen Schauspielkollegen standen kaum an Prominenz zurück: Matt Damon, Joseph Fiennes, Guillaume Dépardieu und Superstar RAIN (Jung Ji-hoon) zogen die Blicke auf sich, zudem hatte die Internationale Jury mit Willem Dafoe, Gael García Bernal und Mario Adorf reichlich „manpower“ zu bieten.

Bei den Regisseuren präsentierte sich der Wettbewerb wieder als Mix der Generationen: junge viel versprechende Namen wie David Mackenzie, Ariel Rotter und Li Yu fanden ebensoviel Beachtung wie die Großen des Fachs, etwa Jiri Menzel, Jacques Rivette und Paul Schrader. Mit Steven Soderbergh, Park Chan-wook, Francois Ozon und Christian Petzold präsentierten zudem mehrere Stars des zeitgenössischen Kinos ihre neuen Arbeiten in Berlin.

Nicht alle Filme dieses Wettbewerbs konnten jedoch gleichermaßen überzeugen, während etwa Sam Gabarskis Irina Palm, Mackenzies Hallam Foe, Li Yus Lost in Beijing und Petzolds Yella bei Presse und Pubikum gleichermaßen auf viel positive Resonanz stießen, enttäuschte der mit Spannung erwartete Bordertown viele Beobachter, weil er sein brisantes Thema, die Schikanierung und Ermordung mexikanischer Arbeiterinnen, nicht konsequent genug umsetzte.

Steve Buscemi
Der doppelte Buscemi: Steve Buscemi im Panorama mit Interview

Panorama und Forum boten Vielfalt auf hohem Niveau

Mit ihrem traditionell etwas heterogeneneren Profil konnten Panorama und Forum in diesem Jahr ihr anspruchs- und lustvolles Publikum voll überzeugen. Mit Julie Delpys 2 Days in Paris, Hal Hartleys Fay Grim und Sarah Polleys Away from her gab es im Panorama einige Top-Hits zu sehen, und auch die Starpower der Sektion war in diesem Jahr enorm: auf dem roten Teppich vor dem Zoo-Palast tummelten sich Daniel Brühl, Danny Glover, Antonio Banderas, Steve Buscemi sowie Karl Lagerfeld und John Waters, denen jeweils ein Dokumentar-Portrait gewidmet war. Ein Kritikerliebling war Pascale Ferrans Lady Chatterley, zu den heiß gehandelten Geheimtipps der Sektion gehörten die politische Dokumentation Strange Culture, Mitchell Lichtensteins Teeth sowie der koreanische Dasepo Naughty Girls, der sich von der „New York Times“ das Kompliment holte, gemeinsam mit Park Chan-wooks Wettbewerbsbeitrag Ich bin ein Cyborg, aber das ist o.k. das Genre des „crazy movie“ neu belebt zu haben.

Das Forum bestätigte seinen Anspruch, einen differenzierten Bick auf das Weltkino zu werfen und vor allem aus Asien die eine oder andere Entdeckung zu präsentieren. Zu den Highlights gehörte aber auch die Wiederaufführung von Charles Burnetts 1977 gedrehtem Sozialdrama Killer of Sheep, Guy Maddin's als Opernspektakel aufgeführter exzentrischer Stummfilm Brand Upon the Brain! sowie mit Ann-Kristin Reyels Jagdhunde und Maria Speths Madonnen auch zwei bemerkswerte Arbeiten junger deutscher Regisseurinnen.

Deutsche Filme blühen in der Wärme der Berliner Februarsonne

Dass die Berlinale dem deutschen Film in den letzten Jahren zu einer neuen Blüte verholfen hat, bestreitet mittlerweile keiner mehr. Selten war die internationale Wahrnehmung für deutsche Arbeiten so groß wie diess Jahr. Neben der auffallenden Präsenz deutscher Schauspieler auch in internationalen Produktionen - Devid Striesow, Moritz Bleibtreu, Martina Gedeck, Julia Jentsch, Jasmin Tabatabai, André Hennicke - wurde diese Berlinale als ein Vorzeigejahr der „Berliner Schule“ gewürdigt: Maria Speth, Thomas Arslan, Angela Schanelec zeigten ihre neuen Arbeiten und Christian Petzold, so die „Neue Zürcher Zeitung“, ist mit Yella der „große Wurf“ gelungen.

Prinzessinnenbad: Mina, Bettina Blümner, Klara & Tanutscha
Prinzessinnenbad: Regisseurin Bettina Blümner (2. v.l..) mit Mina, Klara und Tanutscha.

Dass diese Qualität mittlerweile Substanz hat, dafür bürgte ein starker Jahrgang in der Perspektive Deutsches Kino, wo es mit Bettina Blümners Berliner-Schnauze-Dokumentation Prinzessinnenbad auch einen sensationellen Publikumserfolg zu sehen gab.

Gegenüber einem stetig wachsenden Festival klagten einige Beobachter über die strukturelle Überforderung und den Verlust an programmatischer Trennschärfe. Andere wiederum schätzten die enorme Energie und Geschäftigkeit, die das Festival für zehn Tage entfaltet, und die darin angelegten Chancen. Kein Problem mit der Profilschärfe hatte auch im 30. Jahr die Sektion Generation, die ihr junges anspruchsvolles Publikum einmal mehr begeisterte. Dass der sektionsübergreifend vergebene "Preis für den Besten Erstlingsfilm" in diesem Jahr an einen Generation-Film ging, nämlich Vanaja von Rajnesh Domalpalli unterstrich lediglich, was längst kein Geheimnis mehr ist: Bei Generation laufen einige der beachtenswertesten Filme des Festivals.

Besucher  
Kinobesuche 430.894
Verkaufte Eintrittskarten 224.181
   
Fachbesucher  
Akkreditierte Fachbesucher (ohne Presse) 15.050
Herkunftsländer 103
   
Presse  
Pressevertreter 4.105
Herkunftsländer 88
   
Website www.berlinale.de
15. Dezember 2006 - 25. Februar 2007
 
Page Views 14.205.039
Besuche 939.513
   
Screenings  
Anzahl Filme im öffentlichen Programm 396
Anzahl öffentlicher Vorführungen 934
   
European Film Market  
Fachbesucher 5.752
Anzahl Filme 727
Anzahl Screenings 1.099
Stände auf dem EFM
(Martin-Gropius-Bau & Business Offices)
116
Anzahl Aussteller 259
   
Berlinale Co-Production Market  
Teilnehmer 418
Herkunftsländer 48
   
Berlinale Talent Campus  
Teilnehmer 370
Herkunftsländer 101