Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Competition

Grbavica

Barbara Albert (Producer)
Luna Mijovic (Actress)
Mirjana Karanovic (Actress)
Jasmila Zbanic (Director)
Host: Niki Nikitin

 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

GRBAVICA

Single mother Esma lives with her 12-year-old daughter, Sara, in post-war Sarajevo. Sara wants to go on a school trip and Esma starts working as a waitress in a nightclub in order to earn the money.
Sara makes friends with Samir, who, like Sara, has no father. Both of their fathers allegedly died as war heroes. Samir is surprised that Sara doesn’t know the circumstances of her father’s death. Samir’s own father was massacred by Chetniks near Zuc when he refused to leave the trench he was defending. And yet, whenever mother and daughter discuss this delicate topic, Esma’s responses are always vague.
The situation becomes more complicated when the school offers to take pupils on the trip free of charge, provided they can furnish a certificate proving that they are the offspring of a war hero. Esma explains to Sara that her father’s corpse was never found and that she does not possess such a certificate. She promises to try to obtain the document. In reality she attempts to borrow the money Sara needs – from her friend, Sabine, from her aunt and from her boss.
Sara can’t get rid of the nagging feeling that something’s not right. Shocked and bewildered when she discovers she is not mentioned as the child a war hero on the list of pupils on the school trip, she lashes out at a classmate, explaining that her father was massacred on the front near Zuc when he refused to desert his trench. At home, however, she confronts her mother, demanding to know the truth. Esma breaks down and brutally reveals the painful facts: Esma was raped in a prisoner-of-war camp and forced to have the child that resulted from this violation. All at once, Sara realises that she is the child of a Chetnik. And yet, the knowledge also brings them a step closer to overcoming the trauma…

Austria / Bosnia and Herzegovina / Germany / Croatia 2005, 90 min

by

Jasmila Zbanic

with

Mirjana Karanovic
Luna Mijovic
Leon Lucev

World Sales

The Match Factory GmbH

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Wettbewerb

Grbavica

Barbara Albert (Produzentin)
Luna Mijovic (Schauspielerin)
Mirjana Karanovic (Schauspielerin)
Jasmila Zbanic (Regisseurin)
Moderation: Niki Nikitin

 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

GRBAVICA

Esma, eine alleinerziehende Mutter, lebt mit ihrer 12-jährigen Tochter Sara im Nachkriegs-Sarajevo. Sara möchte auf einen Schulausflug gehen. Esma nimmt einen Job als Kellnerin in einem Nachtclub an, um das Geld für den Ausflug aufzubringen.
Sara freundet sich mit Samir an, der – wie Sara – keinen Vater hat. Beide Väter sollen als Kriegshelden gestorben sein. Samir ist verwundert, dass Sara nicht weiß, wie ihr Vater starb – sein Vater wurde von Chetniks bei Zuc niedergemetzelt, als er nicht aus den Schützengräben fliehen wollte. Doch wann immer Mutter und Tochter das heikle Thema ansprechen, gibt Esma ausweichende Antworten.
Die Situation verkompliziert sich, als seitens der Schule angeboten wird, die Kinder könnten den Ausflug kostenfrei mitmachen, wenn sie die Bescheinigung vorlegten, Kind eines Kriegshelden zu sein. Esma erklärt Sara, dass der Leichnam ihres Vaters niemals gefunden wurde und sie daher die Bescheinigung nicht hat, aber versuchen werde, eine zu bekommen. Tatsächlich aber versucht sie, das nötige Geld von ihrer Freundin Sabine, ihrer Tante und ihrem Chef zu leihen.
Sara wird das Gefühl nicht los, dass etwas nicht stimmt. Und sie ist bestürzt, als die Liste für den Ausflug sie nicht als Kind eines Kriegshelden ausweist. Eine Mitschülerin schlagend, erklärt sie, dass ihr Vater an der Front bei Zuc niedergemetzelt wurde, als er den Schützengraben nicht verlassen wollte. Zu Hause aber stellt sie die Mutter zur Rede. Sie möchte die Wahrheit wissen! Esma bricht zusammen und enthüllt Sara auf schmerzhafteste und brutalste Weise die Wahrheit: Esma wurde in einem Kriegslager vergewaltigt und gezwungen, das Kind auf die Welt zu bringen. Sara ist das Kind eines Chetnik! Ein erster Schritt, das Trauma zu bewältigen, ist getan…

Österreich / Bosnien und Herzegowina / Deutschland / Kroatien 2005, 90 Min

von

Jasmila Zbanic

mit

Mirjana Karanovic
Luna Mijovic
Leon Lucev

Weltvertrieb

The Match Factory GmbH