Berlinale: Yearbook


54th Berlin International Film Festival
February 5 - 15, 2004

"If anything was missing from this year's Berlinale, it was the elusive 'buzz' factor over one or two 'hot' titles. With the frantic pace of most fests these days, it seems as if opportunities for building buzz with leisurely conversations over coffee are fewer and farther between. Blame it on a changing big-fest Zeitgeist, 9/11 or the price of bagels, but don't blame it on this year's Berlinale."

(Derek Elley in his Berlinale resumee for "Variety".)

Fatih Akin
Fatih Akin

Family line-up for German cinema: Head-On

The bombshell came at the final hour: the Golden Bear for Fatih Akin’s rough romance Gegen die Wand | Head-On surprised nearly all festival observers. The decision led to compliments to the international jury headed by Frances McDormand and provided plenty to talk about for weeks to come. International commentators noted soberly that Gegen die Wand was the right film at the right time and therefore deserved to win – the Golden Bear was seen as another sign of the renewed blossoming of German film.

On the German culture pages the buzz lasted longer. Those who celebrate every award like an Olympic gold medal and want to attribute each film to a particular country chewed on Gegen die Wand for a while to come. “We’re somebody again – but the question arises, who ‘we’ actually are,” summed up Hanns-Georg Rodek in “Die Welt” and took it to himself to complete the belated integration of the Turkish German Fatik Akin. Rodek wasn’t the only one who – with various motives – were interested primarily whether and to what extent one had to come up with a new definition for the word “German”, as in “German film” and elsewhere.

The commentary by Katja Nicodemus in “Die Zeit” clarified things by reminding that Gegen die Wand “marked not the beginning, rather the continuation of a movement in film,” which at the latest had become a fixed component of German filmmaking in the mid-Nineties. Barbara Schweizerhof was even more relaxed about it and wrote in “Freitag” that the nicest thing about Akin’s film was “that it didn’t address a issue – let alone the issue of immigrants in Europe – but simply told a story.” And so Gegen die Wand managed to ignite a debate on identity and belonging, in which painful and outmoded attitudes were voiced – something which apparently had to happen.

Claudia Schiffer, Faye Dunaway
Claudia Schiffer, Faye Dunaway at the opening gala

Well organized till the early hours

From the outside, the 2004 was seen as a solid year. The professionalism and competence of the public face of the festival – which was shifting more and more to the lounges and after-hour parties - received praise, even if, for some, the buzz of previous years was lacking.

The unexpected absence of Nicole Kidman and Jude Law from the opening premiere of their film Cold Mountain provided something to talk about for a day – after that it was all about the films themselves: strong entries from young filmmakers like Richard Linklater, Kim Ki-Duk, Fatih Akin, Daniel Burman and Cédric Kahn, and controversial contributions by old hands such as Theo Angelopoulos, Eric Rohmer and Ken Loach, whom many felt deserved the a Bear for his film Ae Fond Kiss.

A topic of discussion was “the cinema of emotions”, the promising showing by German directors and the strong debut of 14plus, a selection of films within the Kinderfilmfest, which was aimed at youths and adolescents. Thomas Hailer had taken over as director the Kinderfilmfest in the autumn and had brought to fruition something that had been already in discussion: an appropriate response to the differentiated age structure of the Kinderfilmfest audience.

Frances Mc Dormand
Jury president Frances McDormand at the Talent Campus

Also noticeable was the strong presence of women at the Berlinale: not only in front of and behind the camera, but also on the stage, behind the podium and on the juries. One stood out, representative for all: with her unpretentious appearance and intelligent presence in interviews, discussions and at the Berlinale Talent Campus, jury chairwoman Frances McDormand was one of the most likeable personalities of this festival.

With an a Eye on the Future

The Berlinale was pleased with the success of the diverse new projects at this year’s festival: the Berlinale Co-Production Market, which supports international co-productions with effective networking, the Berlinale Talent Campus, which in the words of Campus-patron Anthony Minghella, was “one of the most exciting initiatives for the future of the Berlinale”, and last but not least the first ambitious step into the digital age: Under the slogan “Berlinale Goes Digital” several cinemas were fitted with the latest digital projection technology. This enabled the Forum and Panorama to show more than 30 digitally produced films in their original format – with an optical quality, which convinced even the sceptics. The 2004 Berlinale was a festival that looked towards the future, and in many respects was a festival of transition – something that will only become clear when the future becomes the present.

Visitors  
Total amount of theater visits 392.000
   
Professionals  
Accredited guests 16.146
Countries of origin 106
   
Screenings  
Number of films in the public programme 365
Total amount of public screenings 1087
   
Press  
Journalists 3.696
German 1,899
International 1,797
Countries of origin 82
   
European Film Market  
Film industry participants 3,500
Number of films 412
Number of screenings 655
EFM-Stands  
Number of companies 120
Countries of origin 35
   
Berlinale Talent Campus  
Participants 520
Countries of origin 84
   
Berlinale Co-Production Market  
Participants 285
Countries of origin 37

Berlinale: Chronik


54. Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin
05. - 15. Februar 2004

„Wenn etwas fehlte, dann war es vielleicht die elektrisierende Aufregung über die ein oder zwei ganz heißen Titel. Bei dem irren Tempo der meisten Festivals heutzutage findet sich kaum noch die Gelegenheit zu einer entspannten Konversation, wo dann heiße Tipps die Runde machen können und heimliche Gewinner erkoren werden. Vielleicht liegt es am Zeitgeist, vielleicht am 11. September oder daran, dass die Bagels immer teurer werden. Die diesjährige Berlinale trifft jedenfalls keine Schuld.“

(Derek Elley in seinem Berlinale-Fazit für „Variety“.)

Fatih Akin
Fatih Akin

Familienaufstellung für den deutschen Film

Der große Hammer kam zum Schluss: Der Goldene Bär an Fatih Akins raue Romanze Gegen die Wand überraschte fast alle Beobachter des Festivals. Die Entscheidung brachte der Internationalen Jury unter dem Vorsitz von Frances Mc Dormand Komplimente ein und sorgte noch Wochen später für ausgiebigen Gesprächsstoff. Internationale Kommentatoren stellten eher unaufgeregt fest, dass Gegen die Wand der richtige Film zur richtigen Zeit und daher ein würdiger Sieger sei, und verbuchten den Goldenen Bären als ein weiteres Zeichen für eine neue Blüte im deutschen Film.

In den einheimischen Feuilletons hielt das Blätterrauschen dagegen noch etwas länger an. Sportsgeister, die jegliche Auszeichnungen gerne wie Goldmedaillen feiern und jeden Film einem Land zuordnen wollen, hatten an Gegen die Wand noch eine Weile zu knabbern. „Wir sind also wieder wer – nur stellt sich die Frage wer eigentlich ‚wer’ ist“, resümiert Hanns-Georg Rodek in der „Welt“ und arbeitet sich dann an der nachträglichen Integration des Deutsch-Türken Fatih Akin ab. Und er war nicht der einzige, den an Akins Film – mit verschiedenen Motivationen – vor allem die Frage interessierte, ob und inwieweit man nun das Wörtchen „deutsch“ neu definieren müsse, in „deutscher Film“ und anderswo.

Klärend las sich da der Kommentar von Katja Nicodemus in der „Zeit“, die daran erinnerte, dass Gegen die Wand ja „nicht den Beginn, sondern den Fortgang einer Filmbewegung markiert“, die spätestens seit Mitte der Neunziger Jahre fester Bestandteil des deutschen Filmschaffens ist. Noch entspannter sah es Barbara Schweizerhof im „Freitag“. Das Schönste an Akins Film sei, „dass er eben kein Thema – und schon gar nicht das der Einwanderer nach Europa – behandelt, sondern eine Geschichte erzählt.“ So hatte es Gegen die Wand geschafft, eine Debatte über Identität und Zugehörigkeit zu entfachen, in der zwar schmerzliche und unzeitgemäße Töne mitschwangen, die aber dennoch offenbar notwendig war.

Claudia Schiffer, Faye Dunaway
Claudia Schiffer, Faye Dunaway bei der Eröffnungsgala

Souveräne Organisation bis in die After hours

Von außen wurde die Berlinale 2004 als ein solider Jahrgang verbucht. Die Professionalität und Souveränität im öffentlichen Auftritt des Festivals wurde gelobt, wenn auch dem einen oder der anderen das Rauschhafte manch früherer Jahre fehlte, das sich mehr und mehr in die kleineren Kreise der Lounges und After Hour Partys verlagert hat.

Das unerwartete Fernbleiben von Nicole Kidman und Jude Law zur Eröffnungspremiere ihres Films Cold Mountain bot jedoch allenfalls Gesprächsstoff für einen Tag - danach ging es um die Filme, um die überzeugenden Auftritte der jungen Filmemacher wie Richard Linklater, Kim Ki-Duk, Fatih Akin, Daniel Burman und Cédric Kahn und um die kontrovers aufgenommenen Beiträge der Routiniers wie Theo Angelopoulos, Eric Rohmer und Ken Loach, dessen Film Ae Fond Kiss viele einen Bären gewünscht hätten.

Diskutiert wurden das „Kino der Gefühle“, der viel versprechende Auftritt deutscher FilmemacherInnen und das starke Debüt von 14plus, einer Filmauswahl innerhalb des Kinderfilmfests, die sich gezielt an Jugendliche und Heranwachsende richtete. Thomas Hailer hatte im Herbst die Leitung des Kinderfilmfestes übernommen und setzte nun um, was schon zuvor diskutiert worden war, ein noch stärkeres Eingehen auf die spezifische Altersstruktur des Kinderfilmfest-Publikums.

Frances Mc Dormand
Jurypräsidentin Frances McDormand auf dem Talent Campus

Aufmerken ließ auch der starke Auftritt von Frauen auf dieser Berlinale: nicht nur vor und hinter der Kamera, sondern auch auf den Bühnen und Podien und in den Jurys. Stellvertretend stand eine für alle: Mit ihrem unprätentiösen Auftritt und ihrer klugen Präsenz in Interviews, Diskussionen und im Berlinale Talent Campus war die Jury-Vorsitzende Frances MacDormand eine der großen Sympathieträgerinnen des Festivals.

Der Blick geht nach vorne

Erfreut war man bei der Berlinale darüber, dass sich die vielfältigen neuen Initiativen bewährt hatten: der Berlinale Co-Production Market, der internationale Koproduktionen mit effektiver Vernetzungsarbeit fördert, der Berlinale Talent Campus, nach den Worten von Campus-Pate Anthony Minghella „eine der spannendsten Initiativen für die Zukunft der Berlinale“, und nicht zuletzt der erste groß angelegte Schritt ins digitale Zeitalter: Unter dem Motto „Berlinale goes digital“ waren erstmals mehrere Kinosäle mit modernster digitaler Projektionstechnik ausgestattet. In Forum und Panorama konnten damit insgesamt über 30 digital produzierte Filme in ihrem Originalformat projiziert werden - in einer optischen Qualität, die selbst die Skeptiker begeisterte. Die Berlinale 2004 war ein Festival, das nach vorne schaute. In vielerlei Hinsicht vielleicht ein Festival des Übergangs, aber das wird man erst wissen, wenn die Zukunft, um die es ging, zur Gegenwart geworden ist.

Besucher  
Kinobesuche 392.000
   
Fachbesucher  
Akkreditierte Fachbesucher einschl. Presse 16.146
Anzahl Herkunftsländer 106
   
Screenings  
Anzahl Filme im öffentlichen Programm 365
Anzahl öffentlicher Vorführungen 1087
   
Presse  
Pressevertreter 3.696
National 1.899
International 1.797
Anzahl Herkunftsländer 82
   
European Film Market  
Fachbesucher 3.500
Anzahl Filme 412
Anzahl Screenings 655
Stände auf dem EFM  
Anzahl Unternehmen 120
Anzahl vertretener Länder 35
   
Berlinale Talent Campus  
Teilnehmer 520
Anzahl Herkunftsländer 84
   
Berlinale Co-Production Market  
Teilnehmer 285
Anzahl Herkunftsländer 37